The Meghalaya government has taken a significant step towards improving the education sector by appointing a four-member state education commission. Led by Sherwin May Sungoh, the head of the education department at North Eastern Hill University, the commission aims to recommend reforms and policy changes to promote quality education across schools, colleges, and higher and technical education institutions in the state. Joining Sherwin May Sungoh on the education commission are former UPSC Chairman David Reid Syiemlieh, former MBOSE Executive Chairman Tony TC Marak, and Education Secretary Ambrose ChMarak, who will serve as the member secretary. The commission will also receive support from 12 co-opted members, ensuring a comprehensive and diverse perspective in its recommendations. The term of the commission will be two years, providing ample time to assess the education landscape and propose impactful reforms. The primary objective of the Education Commission is to recommend concrete solutions, strategic interventions, and policy decisions aligned with the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020.